Year End Project Roundup

I started this blog to keep tabs on my various projects, but I haven’t been doing such a great job of that, so I’m doing a quick roundup to cover what projects I’ve done this year. Or, more accurately, am sure I did this year.

Cute little guy, isn't he?
Cute little guy, isn’t he?

First up is this little guy. My first attempt at amigurumi, this one is actually much simpler than it looks. It’s so simple in fact that you can find instructions for this little bunny that consist of four pictures and that gives you all the information you need. I decided to make this one out of a partial skein of yarn that is very pretty, but unfortunately itchy and missing any information on fiber type (and therefore washing instructions). I ended up using a bit of black yarn to finish off the square because I just sort of randomly picked a width and didn’t have enough of the blue ombre yarn to finish it. I like the way it turned out though. It evokes the design of the character Blackberry in the film version of Watership Down. Oh, and the first place ribbon has nothing to do with the bunny, it was just in the frame.

Posed on my Singer.
Posed on my Singer.

I never intended to use these yarn colors together when I bought them, but the color combo grew on me. Now I’m kicking myself for getting only one skein of each, because I went back and couldn’t match the dye lot of the turquoise. They’re really cute, but go with very little I own, which makes the dye lot thing even sadder. They’re made of bamboo fiber and very soft, but a bit bulky. When I wear them I feel like I should be the main character in a whimsical streetfighting anime. I learned from my mistake of not using a row counter last time I knit something striped, so I did that this time. Still not much better at weaving in my yarn ends though.

You can see my skill progression rather clearly here.
You can see my skill progression rather clearly here.

Originally I only planned to only embroider the sunflower and the first few daisies onto this skirt. Which explains why they are kinda clip-arty. Then I got into it and planned to do wildflowers all the way around, which led to the vetch and then the poppies. When I drew the poppies on I looked at it and said to myself, “Oh, yeah, I am an artist aren’t I?” Honestly I kind of forget sometimes since I don’t really get the opportunity to do much other than doodle right now. Anyhow, I planned to go all the way around and then winter came. Then I remembered this skirt is a staple of my winter wardrobe and so I’ve postponed embroidering anything else onto it for now.

SunshineRiverblogsize
Sunshine River – Pen and Ink sketch on 5.5×8.5 in paper.

And what will probably be my last serious bit of artwork for the year, a small pen and ink piece inspired by the view going into Salem over the bridge. This one isn’t from a photo, but is rather a combination of memory and imagination. I want to eventually do a painting of this in all the glorious color I saw, but that must wait until the weather is better at the very least. The style has some inspiration from the opening credit sequence of the animated film Castle in the Sky, particularly the clouds. I didn’t go back and look at the opening, but when I was trying to figure out how to do clouds in pen I tried to remember how they were shaded there. I actually did a bit of experimenting on another page to try and get it right before I put anything down. I don’t usually do that. I think it came out rather nicely.

I also learned how to darn knit items, but I won’t post pictures of that. The good darning wouldn’t show up and the bad darning is embarrassing. Well worth learning it to save two very expensive pairs of alpaca wool legwarmers though.

And now for ongoing projects started this year. For less exciting stuff I have finally tackled learning how to knit socks. Knitting with double pointed needles is not only less difficult than advertised, I like it almost more than straight knitting. We’ll see how well the socks actually turn out, but I think I know how I’m knitting legwarmers from now on.

Much more exciting is a collaborative project between myself, my husband and a good friend of ours.  However, I’m going to keep that under wraps for the moment and give it it’s own little promotional post when the time comes. So keep your eyes peeled!

So that’s it for the year, I hope to keep better tabs in my projects next year and just generally do more creative work.

Leave a Reply

