My First Week on the New Job

“You know how you let yourself think that everything will be all right if you can only get to a certain place or do a certain thing. But when you get there you find it’s not that simple.”
Richard Adams, Watership Down

That quote is what came to mind to me today as I was leaving work. Not to say that getting a job hasn’t been a blessing, but much like Holly, I had focused on a particular task and had the general assumption that that would fix everything if only I could accomplish it. Of course, when I used the fact that I had been turned down for well over a dozen jobs that I should have been a shoo in for as motivation to get started on my writing, I thought I had abandoned that train of thought. It was not quite true. Because jobs of course come with their own problems and this one, despite being a morning only job, is my first 6 days a week job and it looks like I’m going to receive my check less frequently than I have in past jobs. It is taking a lot of time to adjust and the sort of imminent delivery from all the anxiety of being unable to effectively make ends meet is not as imminent as I had built it up to be in my mind.

On the other hand, by getting this job it feels like God has affirmed my choice in pursuing my writing, since I got it almost immediately and the schedule easily facilitates my writing and housekeeping. Then of course, that feeling has been topped off by this post from John C. Wright, in which he talks about how if God has a purpose for your book or writings, then He will see to it that it makes its way into the hands of the one person who needs to read it. It is a very humbling thought to think that God has some sort of plan for my writing and that it seems He has specifically engineered my current situation to make sure that I write whatever it is that He has a greater purpose for. I don’t know which piece of my writing it will be (I’m working on three separate works concurrently), or what His plan might be, but it is a very peaceful feeling to be able to believe that I’m on the right track.

Leave a Reply

